Welcome

My drug of choice is writing--writing, art, reading, inspiration, books, creativity, process, craft, blogging, grammar, linguistics, and did I mention writing?

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

House/Pet Sitting Price Rates


Pricing Guide for House/Pet sitting 

Note: Due to the nature of pet sitting, many people book weeks and months in advance and a booked date held in good faith that is cancelled (or changed to reduce time) at the last minute is very unlikely to be filled. For this reason, I ask for half payment for bookings cancelled with fewer than 72 hours remaining before they were to begin.

Distance:
  • Very Local (0-15min): South Berkeley, North Oakland/Piedmont, Walnut Creek, Lafayette, Orinda
  • Short range (15-30 min): Concord, Moraga, Greater Oakland, Pleasant Hill, Alamo, North Berkeley, San Ramon
  • Mid range (30-45 min) Clayton, Alameda, Richmond, Martinez, Pittsburg, San Leandro, San Francisco, Hayward, Pleasanton, Antioch, Vallejo
  • Long range (45-60min) Pinole, Hercules, Antioch, Daily City, Pacifica So. SF, Sausalito, Livermore, Union City, Brentwood/Oakley
  • Max range (1hr+)- San Rafael, San Mateo, Palo Alto, Milpitas, San Jose, Mountain View, Tracy, Discovery Bay, Fairfield, Napa
  • I can technically go further, but then additional costs need to be considered for travel expenses and potentially lost work at my other job.
  • Please note bridge toll addition below for locations across bridges from the east bay.

Basic Service
My main service is overnight pet and house sitting. (I'm a writer, which I do anywhere there's wifi and a three pronged plug). I technically offer other services, but their pricing structures are less competitive as they consume more of my writing time.

Housesitting/pet-sitting: 
(I stay there pretty much most of the time when I’m not at work including overnight. I take care of pets. I keep the house from looking empty. Please note that I do have another job and occasionally even a social life, so while I will come back and be at your home for hours a day as well as sleep there, I may be gone anywhere from four to nine hours a day.)

V. Local- $20/day
Short Range- $25/day
Mid Range- $25/day
Long Range- $30/day
Max Range- $30/day


Long stay:
(I'll stay several hours to keep animals company but will not stay overnight Note: due to the the drive back and forth, this is actually more expensive at the greater distances than housesitting and it may be cost effective to have me stay.)

V. Local- $15/day
Short Range- $20/day
Mid Range- $30/day
Long Range- $40/day
Max Range- N/A*


Drop in visit:
(Feed the cats, fish, birds, dogs that don’t need company, water plants etc...maybe sit down for a few minutes while they eat)

V. Local- $10/day
Short range- $15/day
Mid range- $25/day
Long range- $40/day
Max range- N/A*


Double Drop In:
(I'll take care of animals need to be fed twice daily. I'll visit once in the morning and once in the evening.)

V. Local- $20/day
Short range- $30/day
Mid range- $50/day
Long range- N/A*
Max range- N/A*


24 Hour Supervision:
(For very short periods of time, I can cover situations that basically require constant supervision. [Perhaps you have to go out of town but your pet is injured or ill.] Note: I do have another job that pays hourly, and I will have to coordinate my schedule so as much notice as possible is absolutely critical. Subject to limits.)

V. Local- $100/day
Short Range- $100/day
Mid Range- $100/day
Long Range- $100/day
Max Range- $100/day

*Theoretically I'm willing to do these jobs, but I'm worried they would be prohibitively expensive for most people compared to other options. If your situation is an emergency, feel free to inquire about pricing. 


Additions
Mild care:
(Dog needs a walk, cat has complicated medicine routine, two or more litter boxes that need scooping every single day, about five to fifteen minutes worth of extra routine, etc…)

Housesitting/pet-sitting: Included
24 Hour Supervision: Included
Long stay: +$5
Drop in visit: +$5
Double Drop In: +$5 (if mild care is needed once) +$10 if mild care is needed during both visits


Heavy care
(Multiple animals needing mild care, dog needing a long walk [30min+], more than three cage-free pets, etc...)

Housesitting/pet-sitting: +$5
Long stay: +$10
Drop in visit: +$10
Double Drop In: +$10 (if heavy care is needed once) +$20 if heavy care is needed during both visits
24 Hour Supervision: Included


Bridge Toll surcharge:

(For locations across bridges from the East Bay)

Housesitting/pet-sitting: +$2.50
Long stay: +$5
Drop in visit: +$5
Double Drop In: +$10
24 Hour Supervision: Included


No Wifi: +$10
(Wifi is critical to my writing work, and involved in 95% of what I do when I'm not working, so if you don't have wifi, I'm going to end up at a local cafe every time I want to post a blog. I cannot do 24 Hour Supervision at a location with no wifi.)

Last Minute Booking:

Jobs booked with less than 24 hours until they begin. Exception made for bereavement travel.

V. Local- +$10
Short Range- +$20
Mid Range- +$30
Long Range- +$40
Max Range- +$50


Note: This addition is not "per day." It's just a one time surcharge for the initial inconvenience. If I am able to take the job, I can handle scheduling after the first day. Please be aware that my availability is not guaranteed.

Pool care/Plant care:

Easy periodic maintenance (average <15 min/day) +$5
Involved or daily maintenance (average 15-30 min/day) +$10
Heavy maintenance: $20/hr 


Other services

Cleaning:
(Of course I clean up after myself and if I stay more than a couple of nights, I'll wash any linens I've used if there is a washing machine available, but if you want more cleaning done, I can do that as well. Go on vacation and come home to a clean place! I will need to see the job to give a quote.)

Light cleaning- $20/hr
Heavy/deep cleaning- $25/hr


Caretaking/Yard Work: 
(I will need to see the job to give a quote.)

Light yard work- $25/hr
Heavy yard work- $30/hr


Chauffeur:
(Does someone need to be picked up even though you're out of town or do you need a package delivered, mail dropped off, or something similar?)

Driving services- $20/hr + 50¢/mile



Discounts

Multi-day discount:
(Jobs booked for eight days or more will get a free day each week. Base Cost only–Does not include "Additions" or "Other Services."  Note: Due to schedule planning this is a "bundle" discount for long-term jobs and does not apply to extending the job after booking.)


Cash: 5%

I can take checks or Paypal or Venmo, but if you hand me cash at the end of the job, I'll knock off 5%.

Food in the fridge:
(I usually buy a lot of Trader Joe's frozen dinners before a job, but I'm a sucker for a home cooked meal–especially with lots of vegetables–and have a weakness for junk food. We can talk about what things I might like and how much of a discount I'd give, but it can go as high as $10/day.)

More?: 
(Most discounts tend to be more personal and less easy to anticipate. I've given small discounts for everything from allowing overnight guests to having the latest console hooked up to a big screen TV with a game I'm excited to try. )

No comments:

Post a Comment